No one can deny that 2020 has been a difficult year in the commercial real estate industry. But even the COVID-19 pandemic couldn’t stop people from closing real estate deals and developing new buildings.

And on July 29, the Minnesota Real Estate Journal honored the men and women who overcame obstacles and thrived even during the worst days of the pandemic. The magazine hosted its celebration of the 2021 Minnesota Real Estate Journal Awards at The Depot in Minneapolis. Hundreds of the biggest names in commercial real estate have filled this venue to honor the top performers in the industry.

This year’s ceremony featured 41 awards for everything from Broker of the Year and Property Manager of the Year to Largest Rental Transaction and Best Urban Multi-Family Project of the Year.

Weren’t you able to make the big event? You can see photos from the ceremony here.

Here are all of the 2021 Minnesota Real Estate Journal Award winners.

Project price

Affordable housing

Housing on rue du lac

Lexington landings

Millberry Apartments & The Legends at Barry

Apartments Mino-bimaadiziwin (Winner)

The Red Well

Hotel / Hospitality

Omni Viking Lakes Hotel (Winner)

Industrial / Manufacturing / Science

Arbor Lakes Enterprise Center

Digi-Key Electronics (Winner)

RDO Equipment

Second Harvest Heartland


Panoway on Wayzata Bay (Winner)

Interior Design – Retail / Restaurant / Hospitality


Lynhall # 3945 (Winner)

Medical – East

CityPlace III

Birth center of the regional hospital (winner)

Rosemount Professional Building

Medical – West

Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare – Maple Grove (Winner)

Hennepin County Behavioral Health and Wellness Clinic

Shakopee VA Clinic

Retail / Restaurant – COVID / Renovation

HOM, Gabberts & Dock furniture86

People’s Organic at MSP Airport (Winner)

The cocktail room at 18th and Central (MSP Airport)

Housing for the elderly in urban areas

Lexington Landing

The Pillars of Prospect Park (Winner)

Winslow West St. Paul

Redevelopment / Reuse / History – Overall

Lloyd’s Construction Services Headquarters (Winner)

Redevelopment – Mixed use / Office – St. Paul

550 Vandalia (Winner)

Schmidt’s Rathskeller

Redevelopment – Multifamily housing

Chamber of Commerce Lofts

Carlton Lofts

Cove Apartments

Union Emerson (Winner)

Housing for the elderly in the suburbs

Founders Ridge (Winner)

Bloomington Friendship Village

Zvago Lake Superior

Greater Minnesota

Army National Guard Readiness Center (winner)

Bridge Square

Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health Services Hospital

Gustavus Adolphus College – Extension and renovation of the Nobel Hall

Zvago Lake Superior

Interior design – Urban office / HQ

Butler’s Square (Winner)


Necklaces Minneapolis


Interior Design – Suburban Office / HQ

Relocation of the Heraeus Medical Components office (Winner)


PA Manufacturing Renovation of the Litho building

Urban Multi-Family – Minneapolis Core

Marquee Apartments (Winner)

Second + Second

Apartments Sora

Apartments Vesi North Loop

Urban Multifamily – Minneapolis Neighborhood

Everlake (FKA “Midtown Corner”) (Winner)



Odie Apartments

The Asher Apartments

Urban Multifamily – St. Paul


Donegan Apartments (Winner)

Multifamily in Greater Minnesota

Chamber of Commerce Lofts

Carlton Lofts

Le Berkman (Winner)

the tint

Suburban multi-family

Beacon Ridge (Winner)


Elmwood Apartments

Redevelopment – Mixed Use / Office – Minneapolis

117 Washington (Winner)

Butler’s Square

Foundry 19

Renovation of the Bakken Museum

The Dayton project


Company / city award

City of the year

Town of Fridley (Winner)

Town of Watkins

Developer of the year


Reuters Walton Development

Schafer Richardson (Winner)

Largest investment sale transaction in 2020

CSM Portfolio Sale (Winner)

Davis Fund for Medical Office Buildings

Holly center

Live active apartments

West End Office Park

General contractor of the year

Amcon Construction

Crawford Merz

Doran Enterprises

Ironmark Building Company (Winner)

Knutson Construction

MA Mortenson Company

Largest rental transaction in 2020

10 West

RBC Place (Winner)

Vivacity Technology

Property Management Company of the Year

Colliers Property Management Services

Cushman and Wakefield

Davis Property Management

Ebenezer management services


Zeller (Winner)

Best COVID plan

Ackerberg (Winner)

Crawford Merz

People price

Pivot Broker of the Year

Michael Gelfman, Colliers International (Laureate)

Emerging Leader of the Year

Geneviève Galligan, Cushman & Wakefield

Connor McCarthy, United Properties (Laureate)

Superstar 2020

Lauren Dahlke, Zeller (Winner)

Tim Jackson, Colliers International

Jackie Knight, Ackerberg

Real Estate Lawyer of the Year

Phil Colton, Winthrop & Weinstine (Winner)

Jason Thomas, Frauenshuh

Architect of the year

Dean Dovolis, DJR Architecture (Laureate)

Patrick Giordana, Synergie Architecture

Executive of the Year

Mark L. Evenson, Avison Young

Steve Herron, Zeller (Winner)

Jackie Knight, Ackerberg

Jean Kane, Colliers International

Jon Lundberg, Ebenezer

Kelly Lindquist, Artistic Space

Peter Mork, Capital Partners

Broker of the Year – Investment Sales

Mark Kolsrud, Colliers International (Laureate)

Keith Sturm, Highlands

Josh Talberg, JLL

Broker of the Year – Leasing

Lisa Christianson, Christianson & Company (Laureate)

Tom DeSautel, Cushman & Wakefield

Brent Erickson, Newmark

Property Manager of the Year – Woman

Stéphanie Balynas, Colliers International

Lynette Muhuch, JLL

Jen Nergard, Shafer Richardson (Winner)

Angela Richter, Ackerberg

Heather Shultz, Cushman and Wakefield

Amy Wimmer, Hines

Property Manager of the Year – Male

Kevin Connolly, Zeller

Jim Durda, Ryan Companies (Winner)

Mel Schultz, advertisement for clarity

Woman of the Year – Industry Director

Beth Duyvejonck, The Opus Group (Laureate)

Meghan Huber, Welsh Construction

Jackie Knight, Ackerberg

Lynnette Muhich, JLL

Woman of the Year – Brokerage

Sonja Dusil, CBRE (Winner)

Ra’eesa Motala, Rokos Advisors

Jill K. Rasmussen, Davis

Minnesota Real Estate Journal 2021 Lifetime Achievement Recipient, Gary S. Holmes

Sid Bader, CEO / shareholder

Bader Development